How to Walk Like a Man by Eli Easton.

Book – How to Walk Like a Man.
Author –Eli Easton
Genre – MM Contemporary Romance
Publication – November 13th 2015 by Pinkerton Road
Series – Howl at the moon #2
Format – ebook, 241 pages

image

Deputy Roman Charsguard survived Afghanistan where he lost his best friend—his K-9 handler James. Roman was a military dog until two years ago when he developed the ability to shift into a human. It’s not easy to learn how to be a man. He found a place to live in Mad Creek, a haven for the secret world of dog shifters. Finding a reason to live has been harder. That is, until a certain human walks into the Mad Creek Sheriff’s office and starts making trouble.

Matt Barclay has the worst luck. First he was shot in a SWAT drug raid, then he was sent as DEA investigator to Mad Creek, a little town in the California mountains. Matt’s job is to keep a lookout for illegal drug farms, but nobody in the town wants him there. And then there’s Roman, Matt’s erstwhile baby-sitter. He’s the hottest guy Matt’s ever seen, even if he is a bit peculiar. If the town doesn’t kill him, sexual frustration just might.

The town is counting on Roman to prevent Matt from learning about dog shifters, Matt’s counting on Roman to be his work partner and tell him the truth, and Roman’s trying to navigate love, sex, and a whole lot of messy human emotions. Who knew it was so complicated to walk like a man? 


My Thoughts.

If you follow me on Goodreads and have read my status updates you will see it was no surprise how much I loved this book and Roman in particular. I don’t think it was normal how protective I got over his character.Honestly I’d give this book five more stars just for Roman. He was such a sweetheart. Roman is quickened which in simple terms means he is a dog ( German Sheperd) who can shift into a human.Some quickens are born with the ability to change into a human at birth and some develop it overtime. Roman was one that developed it over time. Watching and being inside his head while he tried to navigate how to be human was the best thing ever. There is a certain scene – if you have read the book you know what I’m talking about – I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my life. His “little” chats with Lance brought my life joy. I think it was his pure goodness that made me so protective. It’s rare to find a character with absolutely nofaults that you automatically love. Roman was that character for me.
Matt was also a sweetie. At first I gotta say it took me a while to warm up to him but I think that’s just because I loved Roman at first site. I didn’t want him hurt. Matt had a few issues of his own to sort out. Which he did, though I would have liked him to have done it a little sooner. I still really liked him.

Their relationship was adorable. I expected Insta love, it’s the vibe I got from the first few chapters but it wasn’t. Another thick of my checklist, my favorite relationships are the ones that take time to develop. Even though Matt clearly wanted Roman from the moment he saw him the relationship wasn’t rushed. It was beautiful and funny and the characters were so good together.

Overall I loved the hell out of this book. It completely took me by surprise I mean it was amazing. It was funny, fluffy and had little or no angst.  Everything from the characters to the world building was wonderful. The dual POVs were my favorite. We even got the bad guys. Apart from our main characters I also really liked the side characters and now I can’t wait to read the other books in the series. Especially Lance and Tim.I will defiantly be keeping my eye open for more Eli Easton books. I now have a new favorite.

5/5 Stars.

5

Leave a Reply

