Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

Book – Six Of Crows
Author – Leigh Bardugo
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy.
Publication – September 27th 2016 by Orion Children’s Books.
Format – Paperback,
Series – Six of Crows Duology #2

imageKaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world. 


My Thoughts.

Crooked Kingdom was one big whirlwind that wreaked havoc on my emotions. You never really know how emotionally  attached to characters you have become until you get a book like this. One that leaves your heart soaring in one chapter and the next rips it out.

Crooked kingdom jumps straight into the events that happened at the end of Six of Crows. I’m not going to lie I didn’t enjoy this as much as Six of Crows but it was good. I felt it to be really slow for some of it. There where many twist and turns; some obvious and others not. Our characters are back and giving it their best but I just didn’t have the excited feeling while reading as I did with Six of crows. I also had some issues which I won’t go into because I don’t want to spoil Six of Crows. There wasn’t many but a few that made Crooked Kingdom less enjoyable. Nonetheless the world building was as wonderful as ever and Kaz was even more badass than book one. Which I didn’t think could happen. He showed more of his ruthless side but he was slightly more vulnerable in this book. Not that he let anyone else see it.

I’ve become so involved with these characters that I have to say My heart is broken after Finishing. I’m arguing with myself because one half of me wishes there was a sequel and the other half liked the way it ended. Not everything was perfect but it left the readers ways to imagine their own perfect ending. I know I have mine.

Overall I really enjoyed this and I am glad I read it. I loved the characters – even though some were quite murderous and crazy. With both books together they get 4.5/5. I will be looking into more of Leigh Bardugo’s books.

4/5 Stars. 

image

Leave a Reply

