Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

Book – Six Of Crows
Author – Leigh Bardugo
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy
Publication-September 29th 2015 by Henry Holt and Company
Format – Paperback,465 pages.
Series – Six of Crows Duology(#1)

image

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction.


My Thoughts

I adored everything about this book. It’s been so long since I’ve found a YA book that has made me feel this way. It really is love! Leigh Bardugo has written a masterpiece I will fight anyone who says otherwise. I know I’m sounding a little crazy but I can’t help it Six Of Crows was amazing. It lives up to all the hype and more.

I will admit normally I’m that one person who strongly dislikes a book that everybody seems to love. It has happened on many occasions and I was nervous about reading Six of Crows. Nonetheless I shouldn’t have worried, Leigh Bardugo swept me into the world of the notorious dregs and didn’t let me leave until the last line.

The world building and descriptive writing were really amazing. I felt the real world disappear around me while reading and imagining the cities and lands miss Bardugo created. The story was both nerve wrecking – afraid for your characters lives – and entertaining. The characters stole my heart right from the beginning. Yeah! Some were a little murderous and defiantly batshit crazy *cough cough Kaz cough* but that’s what made them entertaining and different. I was getting a little tired of the main character always being a good person loved by all, who can do nothing wrong. Kaz was a compete badass, crazy son of a b**ch and I freaking Adore him. It would be a spoiler if I named the rest of the characters, crew, but let me say you will love them all. I guarantee it.! Also a side note – The SHIPs and the TENSION was of the charts, I swear I’ve never shipped so many characters in one book.

What more can I say other than you must read this book. It’s amazing. I’ve said that a lot already but who cares. Six Of Crows is a book I don’t think I’ll ever forget. It’s one of my favorites from 2017 already and I can’t wait to dive into Crooked Kingdom.

Overall a really fantastic book by Leigh Bardugo. I can’t believe I haven’t read anything by her before. I plan to change that and read as many of her books as I can find. I also really want to try the Grisha trilogy. Apparently this is a spin off from the Grisha trilogy. I had no idea and like me if you haven’t read the trilogy you should be fine reading Six Of Crows.

5 Stars.

5

Leave a Reply

